Tags

,

IMG_6453

Inside front cover; the first page is left blank so that it can be lightly glued in place with rubber cement.

Okay, so I have a lot of Bibles. Too many according to my wife. I regularly use just one, but there are others that occasionally get used. For years, I’d use the blank pages at the front of the Bible to make longer notes about specific passages. I’d usually number those notes and put the corresponding number by the passage. Fairly good system as long as I was using that particular Bible. If I changed Bibles (not as often as my wife would claim), I either had to hand copy those notes over, or leave them behind. Until now. Until I thought of this Bible Hack.

IMG_6454Here’s how it works:

  1. I keep my notes in a Word document on my computer.
  2. The notes are numbered and include the reference.
  3. Every so often (usually if I’ve added a bunch of notes) I’ll print them out. I know, big deal. But here’s where the hack comes in.
  4. When I print them, I go to Layout in the print dialogue box and choose Booklet. At least on my Mac, Word re-formats the document and prints it out into a booklet.
  5. I fold the booklet in half, poke holes for two staples with a needle and manually staple the pages together.
  6. The first page is purposefully left blank, because…
  7. I put a thin coat of rubber cement on that page so that it sticks to the inside front cover of the Bible.
  8. Then I hand write the corresponding number next to the passage and viola, Bible Hack!
  9. I’ll occasionally update the notes and repeat the steps above.

So far it is working pretty well. I like the neatness of the notes being typed and it makes it easy to put in longer passages than I’d probably write my hand. The first part is quotes about the Bible, God, etc.; the second part is a section on Scripture notes.

