Tags

, ,

On Monday, as I was riding my bike to the seminary, I thought, “You’re living the dream, Dennis Goshorn.” I’m loosely defining “the dream” by a these criteria: 1) I’ve always been interested in living in an urban area; check.  2) where I could ride my bike to shop, etc. Check. 2) I wanted to be in seminary; Check. Living the dream.

025DN1So, how did that dream, by Thursday after class become a nightmare? As I left class on Thursday, all I could think about was how much I had to do and how little time I had. Assignments, like Freddy Krueger’s slasher claws, seemed to be gnawing into my being, causing a lot of anxiety.

On my way to work I began to pray and think. Believing that God had brought us to this chapter in our lives…getting into seminary, getting a job in Louisville, finding a place to live in Louisville, moving to Louisville, etc….I recalled how we had relied on God for all those things. Praying along the way for those things to happen. He had provided.

And he continues to provide. I just need to slow down, see Him and embrace his provision. I don’t know how I’ll get everything done that needs to be done this semester—but, I don’t have to know. He knows. I trusted Him to get us here. Now I need to trust Him while I’m here.

