Tags

, , ,

VI remember being intrigued, as I began to read the gospel of John for the first time, that Jesus began many of his statements with Truly, truly…. I remember thinking, isn’t one ‘truly’ enough? What did that mean anyway? Well, here’s a definition:

Have you ever wondered what “verily, verily” means? It is the greek word where we get “amen” (ἀμὴν). Jesus used it to reassure to those who he was speaking to that what he was saying was true; “I most assuredly am saying to you” or “truly, I am saying to you.” Christians (and Paul’s letters) placed it at the end of a known truth or at the end of a prayer; “so let it be” or “amen.” Paraphrased from BDAD. A Greek-English Lexicon of the New Testament and Other Early Christian Literature, 3rd Edition

The popular New International Version (NIV) translates it as I tell you the truth or very truly I tell you when Jesus is speaking. I prefer truly, truly. Perhaps it is because that’s what I first read when I became a Christian or perhaps I just like the way it sounds.

The bottom-line is Jesus, even when he does not use this phrase, is speaking the truth. He only speaks the truth; we can count on it. In our day of double-speak and political correctness, it’s refreshing to hear someone speak the unvarnished truth.

