Tags

,

 

My NISB

My NISB

The New Inductive Study Bible (NISB), comes in as the book for the letter I. My NISB is the English Standard Version (ESV) translation. I almost did New American Standard (NASB), but I’ve been reading ESV longer than any other translation and getting the NISB in NASB would have been purely nostalgic, as the NASB was my first Bible after I became a Christian.

I'd give it five if I was more certain of the binding

I’d give it five if I was more certain of the binding

LOVE this Bible. For the first week I was hesitant to mark in it. I didn’t want to mess it up. But after a few days I took the plunge. Even then I wasn’t really using their marking system—more like notes in the margin. But, when I took my notes from the online course on Haggai and put them into my NISB, exciting things began to happen.

They (Precept Ministries) say that reading the Bible inductively and marking what you read will open up the Scriptures in exciting new ways and they are right! Man-O-man, I learned so much about Haggai (be honest, have you read Haggai, do you know it’s message?) that I didn’t have a clue about before.

IThings I like about the NISB:

  • The single column format is my preference;
  • The fact that each verse starts a new line makes it super easy to find verses and is the same format as my aforementioned NASB;
  • The charts, notes and maps within the text are helpful and just enough;
  • The ESV standard cross-references;
  • In the Old Testament history books, parallel passages are listed in the wide margins;
  • Oh, did I mention the wide margins? They advertise them at 11/2 inches, but my measurement is closer to 11/4 . Even so, they are nice and wide and great for jotting down notes, lists, etc. from the text.
  • Perhaps the best part (aside from the Scripture) is the material preceding each book of the Bible: 1) a concise introduction; 2) Things To Do; 3) Things to Think About. If you follow the instructions in these sections, you will come away with a good understanding of that book.
  • There’s also a bevy of material at the beginning of the Bible (including a condensed section on How to Study….
  • Then at the back there are several pages for more extensive notes than I’d want to put in the margins, plus an excellent concordance.
An example of my markings and an in-text chart

An example of my markings and an in-text chart

It would be nice if the paper was a bit more opaque; I’ve also read in some reviews that the binding is glued, not sewn, leading to some people experiencing loose pages. So, far I haven’t had that experience.

In Hebrews we read: For the word of God is living and active, sharper than any two- edged sword, piercing to the division of soul and of spirit, of joints and of marrow, and discerning the thoughts and intentions of the heart. (Hebrews 4:12) This Bible, brings the Word alive for me.

