Tags

BHow does one do a book review on the Bible? I mean, it’s the BIBLE! Tons have been written about it. Am I worthy to do a review? Most definitely not. No one is ever adequate.

Let’s put one thing to rest: I believe the Bible is the inerrant (without error), infallible Word of God.  I believe God created the heavens and the earth; that He destroyed everything except Noah and his family in the great flood; that He parted the Red Sea; that He gave Moses the Ten Commandments; He shut the mouths of the lions for Daniel; He opened the mouth of the whale for Jonah; He fed the 5000, then the 4000; He died for our sins, and rose from the dead to give us everlasting life.

Let’s put another thing to rest: Yes, there are 66 books in the Bible and yes, the Bible was written over a period of roughly 2,000 years by 40 different authors from three continents, who wrote in three different languages. These facts alone make the Bible one of a kind, but there are many more amazing details that defy natural explanation. In spite of the time-span, number of authors, languages, etc. one message rings true: This is a love story from God to us that goes succinctly like this: God created this good earth out of nothing for us (theologically referred to as Creation); We rebelled (the Fall) and created separation between us and God (sin); God sent His only Son, Jesus, to live a perfect life and die for our sins and create a way of peace between us and a holy, just God (redemption).

For me, it all began in the summer of 1977. As chronicled elsewhere in this blog, I shoplifted a New Testament and began to read because I figured it would make me a better person. God’s hand guided me to the Gospel of John and on the fifth night I read these words spoken by Jesus to the religious officials of the day:

You search the Scriptures because you think that in them you have eternal life; it is these that testify about Me; and you are unwilling to come to Me so that you may have life

It was as if Jesus was speaking right to me, for that is exactly what I was doing! I put that New Testament away and didn’t read it anymore that summer.

Through a series of orchestrated events, cumulating in December 1977, God brought me to the point that I came to the man that all of Scripture points to: Jesus.

For the word of God is living and active and sharper than any two- edged sword, and piercing as far as the division of soul and spirit, of both joints and marrow, and able to judge the thoughts and intentions of the heart. –Hebrews 4:12

This is no other book, nor will there ever be one, that is living and active and changes lives the way the Bible does.

Pick one up today (no stealing as I did) and begin to read it. I do suggest the Gospel of John, praying as you go that God will open the eyes of your heart and that you will come to know Jesus as your Lord and Savior.

 

