Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Part of me is hesitant to put down which books I want to read this year, but here goes.

I’m only listing 16 because most of what I read is history/biography books that tend to be long and are not fast reads—plus it’s 2016. Here’s my preliminary list:

  1. Lincoln by David Herbert Donald
  2. Jesse James: Last Rebel of the Civil War by T.J. Stiles
  3. Crazy Horse & Custer: The Parallel Lives of Two American Warriors by Stephen Ambrose
  4. PT 109: John F. Kennedy in World War II by Robert Donovan
  5. How to Study Your Bible by Kay Arthur
  6. Christian History Made Easy by Timothy Paul Jones
  7. Ordeal by Fire by James McPherson*
  8. The Civil War: A Narrative, Vol. 2 by Shelby Foote*
  9. Mr. Lincoln’s Army by Bruce Catton
  10. Glory Road by Bruce Catton
  11. A Stillness at Appomattox by Bruce Catton
  12. Lincoln & His Generals by T. Harry Williams
  13. Jefferson Davis & His Generals by Steven Woodworth*
  14. The Shenandoah Valley Campaign of 1862 edited by Gary Gallagher
  15. William McKinley by Kevin Phillips
  16. Coolidge by Amity Shlaes
The sixteen books, minus Coolidge, as it is an ebook

The sixteen books, minus Coolidge, as it is an ebook—approximately 5080 pages!

I naturally reserve the right to change my mind on these books or add to the list and make it 17 books. I was tempted to leave a blank or two, as one never knows what book might come your way that you want to read right then. But, I could not bring myself to erase one of the sixteen books. I am looking forward to reading each one.

_____________________

Check out the price of the book... 60¢

Check out the price of the book… 60¢

April is just around the corner and for the past two years I’ve participated in the A to Z Blogging challenge. Each day in April, I blogged about a topic that related to that day’s letter of the alphabet. For the challenge, you don’t blog on Sundays (four in April) so it comes out to twenty–six days of blogging, same number as the alphabet. This year I’m thinking that my theme will be my favorite book that begins with that letter of the alphabet; for instance for the letter A I might blog about a little book I read when I was a teenager, Across Five Aprils by Irene Hunt, the fictionalized account of a young boy, Jethro Creighton and his family on their farm in Illinois during the Civil War. Might have trouble with the letters Q and Z…

________________________
*Partially read; picking up where I left off

