Tags

, ,

Screen Shot 2015-10-18 at 11.42.48 AMI will confess, up front, that I did not read this page for page. I skimmed it and I’m glad I did. This book is so anti-Nixon that I’m wondering why Elizabeth Drew was selected to write it. The American Presidents series has been a good one for concise biographies of our presidents. I expect these biographies to also be unbiased. This one was not.

365078Ms. Drew’s conclusion that Nixon was unfit to occupy the most powerful office in the nation discounts all his accomplishments and positive contributions to our nation. Nixon was one of the most influential politicians of our time and deserves better treatment than he received at pen of Ms. Drew.

I do not recommend this book. If you already hate Nixon, this is the book for you. If you want an objective biography, look elsewhere (suggestions welcomed in the comments).

This series is sponsored by a well-known fan of all things Kennedy, Arthur M. Schlesinger, Jr. and one has to wonder if that played into the selection of the author, who clearly hates Nixon.

