Tags

, ,

Book cover

Book cover

The Bible’s Answers to 100 of Life’s Biggest Questions by Norman L. Geisler & Jason Jimenez arrived the other day from Baker Books. I’m signed up to be a reviewer/blogger.

First, this is not a book that one sits down and reads cover to cover. As the title suggests, it’s a question and answer book.

Second, I love the way the questions are presented. The book is divided into twelve parts:

  • Questions about God and Truth
  • Questions about Creation, Science, and the Bible
  • Questions about Jesus and the Holy Spirit
  • Questions about Sin and Salvation
  • Questions about Heaven and Hell
  • Questions about Angels and Demons
  • Questions about the Church and End Times
  • Questions about the Christian Life
  • Questions about Moral and Ethical Issues
  • Questions about Culture and Politics
  • Questions about Worldviews and World Religions
  • Questions about Family

Each question is a chapter consisting of:

  • The question
  • The answer
  • Application
  • Bible References
  • Books (suggested)
  • Website
  • DVD
  • Online Video

The chapters are short, concise and to the point. They are not meant be comprehensive or the final word on any of these questions; merely starting points. The Scripture references, suggested books, websites, DVDs and online video are for a more thorough explanation of the topic.

This is not a preachy book, nor does it compromise on the truth. It will appeal to both believers and non-believers alike. In fact, the sample questions they post on the cover will appeal to non-believers:

  • Would a loving God really send people to hell?
  • Are science and the Bible compatible?
  • What is truth?
  • Did God choose me or did I choose him?
  • Are miracles possible?
  • How can Jesus be both God and man?
Sproul's book

Sproul’s book

I know that when I was an unbeliever, that those questions would have appealed to me. I will be keeping this book handy and referring to it time and time again, just as I do RC Sproul’s book Essential Truths of the Christian Faith. I have used Sproul’s book, on occasion, as a sort of devotional, as those chapters are short also. I could see doing the same thing with 100, and may do so sometime in the future. If I do I will be sure to blog about it.

