Tags

, ,

Dinesh D’Souza has a new movie out: America: Imagine the World Without Her. I haven’t seen it, but such a world is a scary thought. Some think that Hitler may have won World War II if not for the United States.

I have a scarier thought: Grace: Imagine the World Without It. One only has to read the Old Testament or look at radical Islam to see what such a world might be. No grace. Instant consequences. No mitigating circumstances. I recently ran across this little article, No Grace, in the magazine, Our Daily Bread that illustrates this principle well:

I have nicknamed our car “No Grace.” Sunday mornings are the worst. I load the car with all the stuff I need for church, get myself in my seat, close the door, and Jay starts backing out of the garage. While I am still getting settled, the seat belt warning starts buzzing. “Please,” I say to it, “all I need is another minute.” The answer, apparently, is no, because it continues buzzing until I am buckled in.

The discretion of a man makes him slow to anger, and his glory is to overlook a transgression. –Proverbs 19:11

This minor annoyance is a good reminder of what life would be life if indeed there was no grace. Each of us would immediately be called to account for every indiscretion. There would be no time for repentance or change of behavior. There would be no forgiveness. No mercy. No hope.

There would be no forgiveness. No mercy. No hope.

Living in this world sometimes feels like falling into a no–grace sinkhole. When minor flaws are blown up into major indiscretions or when people refuse to overlook the faults and offenses of others, we end up burdened by the weight of guilt that we were never meant to carry. God, in His grace, sent Jesus to carry the burden for us. Those who receive God’s grace have the privilege of offering it to others on Christ’s behalf: “Above all things have fervent love for one another, for love will cover a multitude of sins.” –1 Peter 4:8

