Tags

,

This month's issue

This month’s issue

For along time I have been using Tabletalk magazine as for my devotional reading. It’s reformed, insightful and I always come away challenged in my walk. It grows me. This year they have been going through Paul’s epistle to the Romans. Spending a year in Romans is rewarding and, as you can imagine, thorough, as somedays the text is just one verse.

So, I have been trying to read other parts of Scripture so that I get more “food.” I have tried various methods, all more or less not what I was looking for—until I ran across Professor Grant Horner’s reading plan. At first it seemed daunting, but I took the ten day challenge and I’m hooked. In a nutshell, you read ten chapters a day, one from each of his lists. The lists:

  • List 1 (89 days)
    Matthew, Mark, Luke, John
  • List 2 (187 days)
    Genesis, Exodus, Leviticus, Numbers, Deuteronomy
  • List 3 (78 days)
    Romans, I&II Cor, Gal, Eph, Phil, Col, Hebrews
  • List 4 (65 days)
    I&II Thess, I&II Tim, Titus, Philemon, James, I&II Peter, I,II&III John, Jude, Revelation
  • List 5 (62 days)
    Job, Ecclesiastes, Song of Solomon
  • List 6 (150 days) Psalms
    List 7 (31 days) Proverbs
  • List 8 (249 days)
    Joshua, Judges, Ruth, I&II Samuel, I&II Kings, I&II Chronicles, Ezra, Nehemiah, Esther
  • List 9 (250 days)
    Isaiah, Jeremiah, Lamentations, Ezekiel, Daniel, Hosea, Joel, Amos, Obadiah, Jonah, Micah, Nahum, Habakkuk, Zephaniah, Haggai, Zechariah, Malachi
  • List 10 (28 days)
    Acts
Prof. Grant Horner The Master's College Santa Clarita, CA

Prof. Grant Horner
The Master’s College
Santa Clarita, CA

If you are like me, this may seem very daunting and a lot of reading. It is, both. However, I have found that the readings take about 30 to 40 minutes—remember, you’re reading, not studying. My practice has been to read steadily, pausing when I need to look something up and then moving on.

One blogger I read suggested that you use the same Bible and repeat the plan every year—the value being that you will grow to know where things are, chapter, verse and even location on the page. You will also find that themes you come across in one list have an uncanny way of popping up in another, on the same day. Given that the Bible is one book and is inspired and unified, this really shouldn’t be that much of a surprise.

Helps

Initially I developed a chart that I put just inside the cover of my Bible. This works pretty well. Email me if you want a Pages version or a pdf version of the list. It’s color–coded and quite handy, if I must say so myself. Another way to keep track is with the handy iPhone or iPad app, ReadingPlan. Horner’s system isn’t in the plans that are defaulted, but if you click on Available Plans you can find it. This blog does a good job of explaining the app, so I won’t repeat it here.

I encourage you to give it a try for ten days. Somedays I divide the list into two readings, but most days I try and do the entire day’s reading in one session.

Let me know how it goes!

 

