Tags

, , ,

On Sunday, July 6th, I went to hear my son, Ted, preach in his new duties as Associate Pastor at a Methodist church here in Macon. I also went to my church. Those two services have had a lasting impact on me. The text for Ted’s sermon was Luke 5:1-11 and verse 11 stuck me. Ted elaborated on the verse explaining that the catch of fish they had just brought in was worth a small fortune and that fishing was their family business, yet they left it all for Jesus.

And when they had brought their boats to land, they left everything and followed him. ~Luke 5:11

That reminded me of our situation. The “family business” has been higher education, but now it seems that God is calling me in  different direction.

‘there is no food and no water, and we loathe this worthless food!’

The second sermon I heard that day was on Numbers 21, where the people grumble about being in the wilderness, again. In verse 5 the people say, to Moses, “Why have you brought us up out of Egypt to die in the wilderness? For there is no food and no water, and we loathe this worthless food!” Do you see the contradiction? You can’t hate food you claim you don’t have! Josh Garrett, the Associate Pastor pointed out that God is not concerned with our comfort as much as He just wants us near to Him. He wants us to learn to trust Him when it’s easy, but also when it’s hard and times in the wilderness will either make us bitter or move us closer to God.

For the longest time, I rebelled against the thought that PeachMac was the answer, that it would be my new career. Surely God would return me to Higher Education. I’m a bit of a slow learner and it took the higher ed doors closing for me to embrace PeachMac. My thinking paralleled the thinking of the Israelites, “I have no job, I hate this job.” To be clear, I didn’t hate my job, I just didn’t like the prospect of it being my career.

Thankfully, God did not have to send any venomous snakes my way to correct my ways and my thinking (see Numbers 21).

Some amazing things have happened since I have come to the realization that higher ed is not it. First, I have been hired full-time with PeachMac. Second, we’ve found a place to live that is affordable and is looking more and more like it will be perfect for us. Third, God has provided resources for us to help us make the transition to our new place.

Now to him who is able to do far more abundantly than all that we ask or think, according to the power at work within us. ~Ephesians 3.20

Jan & I are newbies when it comes to renting. Until now, our rent has been free, all of our married lives—I know, hard to believe. So all the associated costs of deposits, etc. add up and it was more than we could afford. Thanks be to God that He provided funds that more than cover these expenses! In other words, while doors were closing as I pursued higher ed, they are opening now that I’m at PeachMac.

So, here we are: in a city we never expected to live in; in job I never expected to have and an apartment that God has provided.

I guess you’d call this obedience. I am stubborn and sometimes I have to be hit over the head. It seems to me that He is honoring our obedience as we move forward and I’m excited to see what He does next.

