Tags

, , , , , , ,

Y-2Think of the feelings that go with the words “Yesterday” and “Tomorrow.” Yesterday: time gone by; it’s over; we can’t do anything to change what happened yesterday. Tomorrow: full of anticipation; yet to be; unwritten; full of possibilities.

Paul McCartney wrote a rather poignant song about Yesterday:

Yesterday

Yesterday, all my troubles seemed so far away
Now it looks as though they’re here to stay
Oh, I believe in yesterday

Suddenly, I’m not half the man I used to be
There’s a shadow hanging over me.
Oh, I yesterday came suddenly

Why she had to go I don’t know she wouldn’t say
I said something wrong, now I long for yesterday

Yesterday, love was such an easy game to play
Now I need a place to hide away
Oh, I believe in yesterday

Why she had to go I don’t know she wouldn’t say
I said something wrong, now I long for yesterday

Yesterday, love was such an easy game to play
Now I need a place to hide away
Oh, I believe in yesterday

Love that song. But, it has in it elements of regret; things that have been done that can’t be undone.

Now consider this dialogue from the end of the Back to the Future trilogy:

Jennifer: Doctor Brown, I brought this note back from the future and now it’s erased.
Doc: Of course it’s erased!
Jennifer: But what does that mean?
Doc: It means your future hasn’t been written yet. No one’s has. Your future is whatever you make it, so make it a good one. Both of you.
Marty: We will, Doc!
Doc: Stand back! All right, boys, buckle up.
Marty: Hey, Doc! Where you going now? Back to the future?
Doc: Nope. Already been there.

Your future hasn’t been written yet. Tomorrow is a fresh slate. So, for me, I’ll take Tomorrow over Yesterday, most days of the week. I say most because yesterday is where our memories live. Our yesterdays have made us who we are today and who we will be tomorrow. So, yes, we can echo Doc Brown and say that our “future is whatever you make it,” but the foundation of that future is built upon yesterdays.

