Tags

, , , , ,

Last night we watched the most recent episode of The Walking Dead, which ended with the song Up the Wolves by the Mountain Goats. I have no idea who the Mountain Goats are, but there was something about the lyrics that were haunting. I found the song, with lyrics on YouTube and was struck by the opening two stanzas:

There’s bound to be a ghost at the back of your closet,
no matter where you live.
There’ll always be a few things maybe several things
that you’re going to find really difficult to forgive.

there’s gonna come a day when you’ll feel better,
you’ll rise up free and easy on that day
and float from branch to branch, lighter than the air,
just when that day is coming, who can say, who can say

Who can say? For the group the Mountain Goats, perhaps this is a cry of angst—”who” is unknown, left to the hearer’s imagination. Not so for me. “Who” is the Lord God of the universe; “Who” is Jesus Christ and He knows when that day is coming.

For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord, plans for welfare and not for evil, to give you a future and a hope (Jeremiah 29.11) where we know that for those who love God all things work together for good, for those who are called according to his purpose (Romans 8.28).

I don’t know that day or time or place. I can make plans and seek to be responsible, but I must keep in mind that Many are the plans in the mind of a man, but it is the purpose of the Lord that will stand (Prov. 19.21).

Resting in this knowledge, that His purpose will prevail is perhaps one of the hardest lessons that I’m still learning. When His purpose is revealed, we will float from branch to branch, lighter than air…

