Tags

, , , ,

I have the following from Hunter Stevenson, our pastor at North Macon Presbyterian Church. I have modified it slightly, adding paragraph two in particular.

Jesus loves me, this I know, for the Bible tells me so 1 John 4.9-10

You took my unformed substance and molded me Ps. 139.13 like a potter with his clay. In your book were written, everyone of them, every moment, every day Ps. 139.16. You discern my thoughts and when I sit and when I rise, you have searched the path I travel on in life Ps. 139.2, 3.

While I was at my worst, Christ died for me; even when I was dead in transgression Eph 2.1, even while I was yet powerless Rom 5.6, even while I was still a sinner, Christ died for me Rom 5.8.

For God chose me before the creation of the world to be holy and blameless in His sight. In love He predestined me to be adopted as his son through Jesus Christ Eph 1.4-5. Nothing can separate me from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus my Lord Rom 8.33-39.

And in His perfect timing, My Heavenly Father effectually called me to Himself, gave me the gifts of repentence and faith, and thereby united me to Christ once and for all Eph 2.4-9.

He justified me, forgiving all of my sins and declaring me as righteous in His sight as Jesus Christ 2 Cor 5.21. Now and forevermore I have peace with God Rom 5.1.

He definitively sanctified me, setting me apart as a treasured possession for Himself Is 43.1.

He adopted me as his beloved son, making me an heir of His inheritance and marking me with a seal—the promised Holy Spirit Eph 1.5, 13-14. Now, my Heavenly Father declares to me—just as He did to Jesus. This is my son, whom I love, with him I am well pleased Matt 3.17.

Moment by moment my Heavenly Father takes great delight in me, is quiet over me in love, and rejoices over me with singing; and He will continue to do so for all eternity Zeph 3.17.

He has made an everlasting covenant with me to never stop doing good to me; in fact, He will rejoice in doing good to me today Jer 32.40-41. I can be absolutely certain that in all things my Father is working for my good, that is, to conform me to the likeness of His Son, Jesus Christ Rom 8.23-29. I can even consider the trials and hardships of today as pure joy because my God is forever for me James 1.2-4. Therefore, I can be joyful always, pray continually, and give thanks in all circumstances 1 Thess 5.16-18.

My God is also my Shepherd, ensuring that I will lack nothing today Ps 23.1. He will provide for all my needs according to His glorious riches in Christ Jesus Phil 4.19. Today He will guide me in paths of righteousness for His name’s sake Ps 23.3. He even takes hold of my right hand and whispers in my ear. Do not fear, I will help you Is 41.13. I am confident that today I can do all things through Christ who gives me strength Phil 4.13, for the same Spirit who raised Christ from the dead is also giving life to my mortal body Rom 8.11.

Therefore, today I urge you, Dennis Goshorn, in view of God’s mercy to offer your body as a living sacrifice, holy and pleasing to God—which is your spiritual worship Rom. 12.1-2.

