, ,

Louis L'Amour

Louis L’Amour

To the Far Blue Mountains is the second book  in the saga of the Sackett family as told by Louis L’Amour. This book has it all—adventure, intrigue, romance, mystery…. There are pirates, Indians, villains, heroes, damsels in distress, sword-fighting, broadsides, etc. L’Amour covers a lot of ground in this novel and quickly. What I mean is this is one of those books you don’t want to put down. When you get to the end of a chapter, you want to read more, so you go on to the next chapter and the next….

If you’ve read Fellowship of the Ring by J.R.R. Tolkien, and recall when the hobbits were being chased by the black riders, then you’ll feel right at home with this book. I often recalled Fellowship as I read this book—it has that element of the chase and mystery about it.

If, like me, you’ve read the Lonesome Dove quartet and were disappointed when it ended and were looking for another “saga” to replace it, then look no further than the Sackett saga. There are 18 novels in the Sackett story:

  1. Sackett’s Land
  2. To the Far Blue Mountains
  3. The Warrior’s Path
  4. Jubal Sackett
  5. Ride the River
  6. The Daybreakers
  7. Sackett
  8. Lando
  9. Mojave Crossing
  10. Mustang Man
  11. The Lonely Men
  12. Galloway
  13. Treasure Mountain
  14. Lonely on the Mountain
  15. Ride the Dark Trail
  16. The Sackett Brand
  17. The Sky–Liners
  18. The Man From the Broken Hills

I’ve bolded the titles that I’ve read—I’ve got a lot of reading ahead of me!

As one reads through a L’Amour novel, and this is one of my favorite things about him, one discovers little gems of dialogue or narrative that speak so true to life. Here are some examples from To the Far Blue Mountains:

    • …for pride of title or family is an empty thing, like dry leaves that blow in the cold winds of autumn.
    • “…how many men in Britain today would sail for America? How many do you know that have lurked in the towns, hiding or moving from place to place rather than try a new land? They hide from change. They fear it. We do not.”
    • Yet each move one makes is a risk, and if one thinks too long one does not move at all, for fear of what may come, and so becomes immobile, crouched in a shell, fearful of any move.
    • “You don’t think marriage is serious?”
      “Of course, I do. It is the ultimate test of maturity, and many find excuses for avoiding it because they know they are not up to the challenge, or capable of carrying on a mature relationship.”
    • For land beyond the mountains is ever a dream and a challenge, and each generation needs that, that dream of some far–off place to go.
    • It was a serious fault, and I’d worked hard at controlling myself, for giving away to anger is a weakness in a man.

I won’t go into the plot and those kind of details, as they can be found elsewhere, including Amazon.

I will say that it was with a bit of sadness that I finished the book. It was the same feeling I had when I finished the Lonesome Dove series as described above. Kind of like an old friend leaving and you’re not sure when he will return.

In other words, I recommend this book. It was a worthy successor to Sackett’s Land and I’m sure that The Warrior’s Path will be just as fine, if not better. Happy reading!