…or when I decide to switch, as much as possible, to ebooks.

In the movie, It’s a Wonderful Life the exasperated bartender when dealing with Clarence, exclaims, “Look, we serve hard drinks to men who want to get drunk…” I kind of feel that way about books. My inner voice says something like, “I only read history and don’t have time for novels.” As such, most of the books I read are large. For instance I’m currently reading Giant in the Shadows: The Life of Robert T. Lincoln by Jason Emerson. It’s 600 pages (421 of text, the remainder notes, index, etc.) Those 600 pages have to be carried around everyday.

How much easier on my back (and ultimately on my budget) if I switched to ebooks. This is hard for me because I love the feel and yes the smell of books (at the library I will fan the pages of a book and it it’s been checked out by a smoker I pass). I also like seeing my books on my book shelves. Nevertheless, I’m going to try to make the switch to ebooks.

One other thing… I need to make reading more of a priority—less Netflix and iPad games in bed, more reading.

