Legacies in Cards


, ,

Not too long ago I had begun to think that business cards were a thing of the past. I mean, who used them anymore? Now that I am in sales, I have done a 180 on that thinking. Business cards are important. It’s important to always have one of mine handy and it’s important to collect them for they contain a wealth of information.

But business cards are funny things. They can easily become obsolete and end up on a heap of discarded cards—52 cards in my case—anyone want to play 52-pickup? Fifty-two people who were, at some point, important enough to me that I had their business card. For most, their importance has diminished because I changed careers. Others have moved on and are no longer associated with that business. Some of these people I don’t remember at all. Others were more than associates—they were and are friends. One has died. Surprisingly, some of the people I worked most closely with don’t have cards in my stack. I guess they just didn’t need them; I knew them, they knew me—and frankly, some I would burn in effigy if I had them. Nevertheless, each card represents a legacy, however short that legacy may have been.

Why is this old fart reminiscing over old business cards and why should you care? People with business cards can generally be regarded as successful. It’s a way of declaring, to some degree, I’ve made it. But, have they? Have we? My business card could become obsolete tomorrow; anyone’s could.

I think what I’m trying to say was said by Jesus a long time ago (before business cards—or BBC): Therefore I tell you, do not be anxious about your life, what you will eat or what you will drink, nor about your body, what you will put on. Is not life more than food, and the body more than clothing? Look at the birds of the air: they neither sow nor reap nor gather into barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not of more value than they? And which of you by being anxious can add a single hour to his span of life? Matthew 6:25-27

Today Billy Graham was laid to rest; his business card expired. I listened to the funeral while I worked and I was struck by this—the eulogies were not about him or his success or his career. The eulogies and memories were about how he, Billy Graham, reflected the character of God. A character so steeped in love for people that even in death, the gospel message was presented for anyone listening who might be lost. That’s a legacy that can’t be put on a business card.